top of page
Rechercher
  • Photo du rédacteurGaëlle

Favored


Saturday, shopping day it is! As I am strolling through the departments of a furniture store, I suddenly spot a shoe cabinet.

"Well, this is exactly what I need. The only problem is that this one is black, while my furniture home is white." I do hesitate, but so look forward to contemplate it in my room that I convince myself with many good reasons: "I don’t know where to put all my shoes; they are stacking up all over my room. And this is a great deal; I won’t find another one like it! Besides, if I wait for too long, there is a risk that it will be gone and I will regret not buying it." Before even finishing my weighing of pros and cons, here I go, pushing my trolley towards checkout with my cabinet – heart delighted, convinced I just made the best deal!

 

Back home, I proceed with the setting up of my new purchase, but the final verdict is irrevocable: this is NOT AT ALL living up to the standard of my expectation! Not only does the black color contrast way too much with the domineering color of the room, but the cabinet itself is on the edge of falling down as I store my shoes in it…

 

I end up, nevertheless, accepting my fate, trying to tell myself that I’ll get used to it and that it’s only a matter of time. However, time does pass by, and I do not get used to it, not the slightest bit – to the point that I seriously start resenting my giving into temptation.

Luckily, I kept the receipt (always keep the receipt :-))). I could return it and get reimbursed, all the more because I still am within the allowed timeframe to do so (30 days after purchase). However, a special note on the receipt catches my attention, as it reads "No refund or exchange shall be made if the item has been opened".

Frustrated, I take a break and envisage several options:

- I could possibly sell it, but that would take too much time, with no guarantee anyone would actually but it; meanwhile it would continue to be a bother every time I pass in front of it

- I could also give it, but I wouldn’t know to whom and it would imply an unproductive investment of money

- Or I could try to return it, despite the deterring note on the receipt.

Neither of the two first options is convenient to me, but it’s not conceivable either to keep the cabinet, so I end up opting for the third one.

But, realizing I am the one to blame for my situation, and a bit shameful, I resolve to pray, because I am convinced that without a divine intervention, my request will be inadmissible (1). I start by asking Him for forgiveness over my covetousness (2), and then I ask Him if He would favorably incline the store’s customer service towards me, just like this king’s servant, who had pleaded before God as follows: "Lord, let your ear be attentive to the prayer of this your servant […]. Give your servant success today by granting him favor in the presence of this man! [...]" (3).

 

Then, I return to the furniture store, all the while continuing to pray within me, carrying my shoe cabinet and the opened packaging. Boldly I present the item to be reimbursed as well as the receipt to the cashier, but his attention is diverted. One of his colleagues is suggesting replacing him so that he can deal with something else. This second person

then grabs what I am handing him, without checking anything. He just asks for my credit card so that he can operate reimbursement and hands me the final receipt. So here I am, not only free of this cumbersome item, but also in full possession of my money! Yipee yey! :-)

 

Through this experience, this is what I learned: "In the Lord’s hand the king’s heart is a stream of water that he channels toward all who please him." (4)

Several times throughout Scripture, God favorably inclined circumstances to the benefit of his servants (5). I can confirm that He has not changed, He "is the same yesterday and today and forever". (6)

 

Beyond the spiritual dimension of this story, I was also very moved by the fact that He takes interest in all the domains of my life (and of all human beings), including my shoe problems! 👠 :-)

 

Explanatory notes (click on the underlined texts) :

(1) "To humans belong the plans of the heart, but from the Lord comes the proper answer of the tongue." Proverbs 16:1

(2) Covetousness: "having a craving for possession" www.merriam-webster.com

If it is nurtured, it can produce dangerous consequences : James 1:13‭-‬15

(5) For example: "[...] the Lord had filled them with joy by changing the attitude of the king of Assyria so that he assisted them in the work on the house of God [...]" Ezra 6:22

Translated by Katrien Daelman

32 vues0 commentaire

Posts récents

Voir tout
bottom of page